Welcome to the #1 Fiesta ST Forum and Fiesta ST community dedicated to Fiesta ST owners and enthusiasts. Register for an account, it's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the Fiesta ST Forum today!

My car buying story: 2016 Fiesta ST vs. 2016 GTI S

Hey everybody, I've been around the forums for a couple months now learning and gathering opinions etc. I want to share my car buying story with you all and I'll try to make my review of both and why I chose what I did. So background story: I am a commercially rated pilot who's currently going back to school for engineering as I work at Chrysler FCA Proving Grounds doing test driving/Event Coordination. I own a 2007 GTI, 91 Miata turbo/track project car, and a 94 Chrysler LHS winter beater. The GTI was full bolt-ons and K04 turbo at about ~320WHP. After about 20K miles on the big turbo I randomly threw a rod while cruising on cruise control at highway speeds. I had it shutdown/ignition off before it even threw a CEL. Anyways it was cheaper to sell it than to buy a new shortblock and rebuild etc so I was in the market for a new car.

What I was looking for was:
-Below 25K budget
-Newish with a warranty
-Newish meaning usually more reliable than a used car
-Fun to drive
-Preferably turbo
-Winter drive-able (FWD/AWD preferred)
-A nice place to be everyday
-Straight-line Fast/Touring car feel would be nice
-Manual is a must because I'm not a girly man
-Cars will be modded so a strong aftermarket would be nice

I test drove everything possible and here's some options that I kicked out:
2016 Mustang Ecoboost: Out of budget after I optioned it out
2015 BRZ/FRS: Drove great but it was slow as balls and a terrible place to be everyday (Noisy, plastics everywhere, Not very tune-able without aftermarket FI)